Geographic information for marine science in the South-West Indian Ocean

The gestion and the sharing of geographic information about the littoral and the sea are the main challenges highlighted by the Grenelle de la mer. In this context, the GIS (Geographic Information System) Sea initiated a reflexion about the instauration of a "Administrative System of the Sea and the Coast".

At a regional scale, the "Blue Book South Indian Ocean" has fully integrated these ambitions to help at constructing a Large Observatory of the Indian Ocean as an advanced platform for sharing information produced by the scientific community for police makers and the genral public.

To contribute to these ambitions, the prefectures of La Réunion, Mayotte and Terres Australes et Antarctiques Françaises whished to base their expertises on the marine and coastal geographic data infrastructure Sextant, developped and managed by Ifremer, in order to bring together the GIS shapes related to the action of the State in the french marine territories of the Indian Ocean.

in collaboration with Ifremer, the Direction de la Mer Sud Océan Indien (DMSOI), a shared gestion of usefull geographic referentials to study and manage the coast and the maritime real have been developed, bringing together all the public actors working on the concerned thematic.

L'information géographique au service des sciences marines dans le sud-ouest de l'Océan Indien

La gestion et la mise endisposition des informations géographiques sur le littoral et la mer constituent un des enjeux relevés par le Grenelle de la mer. Dans ce contexte, le SIG Mer a initié une réflexion sur l'instauration d'un "Système d'administration de la mer et du littoral".

A l'échelle régionale, le "Livre Bleu Sud océan Indien" a pleinement intégré ces enjeux et ambitions de contribuer à l'émergence d'un Grand Observatoire de l'Océan Indien comme plateforme avancée pour la mise à disposition des informations produites par la communauté scientifique à destination des décideurs et du grand public.

Afin de contribuer à concrétiser cette ambition, les préfectures de La Réunion, de Mayotte et des Terres Australes et Antarctiques Françaises ont souhaité s'appuyer sur l'infrastructure de données géographiques marine et littorales Sextant, développée et gérée par l'Ifremer, pour regrouper l'ensemble des couches SIG relatives à l'action de l'Etat dans les eaux marines françaises de l'Océan Indien.

en collaboration avec l'Ifremer la Direction de la Mer Sud Océan Indien (DMSOI), une gestion partagée des référentiels géographiques pertinents pour l'étude et la gestion du littoral et du domaine maritime est ainsi développé, fédérant l'ensemble des acteurs publics oeuvrant dans les thématiques concernées.